Skip To Main Content


Speech is a competitive activity that fosters learning the art of public speaking but encompasses so much more than just speaking. It also involves analysis, performance, research, writing, leadership, creativity, listening, etc. Although competitive, this activity is fundamentally about personal growth and achievement. Here at BSM, it’s also about the team. Congratulations, you’re now a ‘speecher’!


  • Keep a positive attitude!
  • Attend all team meetings on Wednesdays, 2:40 - 3 p.m. in room 27.
  • Meet with your coach for an hour each week.
  • Compete at five out of seven Saturday tournaments PLUS the two mandatory in-house tournaments
  • Compete at the NSDA national tournament (if applicable)
  • Compete at sections (if chosen)
  • Compete at MSHSL State tournament (if applicable)
  • Compete at the NCFL national tournament (if chosen)
  • Compete at District Qualifiers (if chosen)
  • Perform at Speech Showcase
  • Dress appropriately at all tournaments.
  • Be on time and do not leave early from tournaments.
  • Travel to and from the tournaments on the BSM bus.
  • Attend a final found at each tournament.

If you sign up to practice with a coach and can’t make your time slot, it’s your responsibility to find a replacement or find the person who is signed up after you and ask him/her to move. After the first few weeks of working with your primary coach, you may practice with other coaches if they have time slots available. All coaches’ schedules will be posted on the Speech board (and online); it is your responsibility to ensure that you have one hour of practice each week. Should you fail to meet this requirement, you will receive two warnings; if this happens a third time, you will be cut from the team.

Activity Fees:

This year, we are asking that you contribute a fee for this activity. The money will cover a team t-shirt, lunch at our in-house day, and materials which will be used in our team-building program. The cost is $25 and will be added to your tuition; you do not need to bring in that money.

Speech Schedule/Tournaments: 


Jan. 13, '24

BSM Open House (Mandatory)

Jan. 20, '24

Chanhassen Speech Tournament

Jan. 27, '24

Wayzata Trojan War

Feb. 3, '24

Prior Lake (or Minneapple)

Feb. 10, '24


Feb. 17, '24


Feb. 24, '24

Star Tribune Eastview Lightning Classic

Mar. 2, '24

Lakeville North

Mar. 8, '24

NSDA District

Mar. 9, '24

Eagan Wildcat Invitational AND Southern Minnesota National Qualifiers Day Two


6AA Section Tournament


Rosebowl (Optional)


Cotter Speech Meet (Optional)


BSM SHOWCASE (1-4pm?)  (mandatory)


POST-SEASON (Based on qualification)


University of Kentucky Tournament of Champions
(Lexington, KY) EXTEMP ONLY

Apr. 20 '24

Minnesota AA State Speech Tournament
(Eastview, MN)


Tournament of Champions in Extemporaneous Speaking
(Evanston, IL)


Digital Speech and Debate E Championship


National Individual Events Tournament of Champions
(Chanhassen, MN)


National Catholic Forensics League Nationals
(Louisville, KY)


National Speech and Debate Association Nationals
(Phoenix, AZ)



Co-Head Coaches: 
Jake Mahler 
Alex Smith


Jackie Bucaro '21, Dan Weber '02, Änna Overbo, Becca Meagher, Sammy Nuñez-Mudoy '21, Bill Hupp, Christopher Clarke

Captains (2023-2024): 

Michael McDonald '24, Emily Walsh '24, Kat Mulgrew '25

Time Commitment:
The season starts in mid-December and runs until spring break in April. Students are required to practice for an hour each week in addition to a weekly team meeting.


Conference Champions: 
2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2021
Conference Academic Champions: 2010, 2014
Section Champions: 
2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2012, 2013, 2014
State Individual Champions: 
Liz Letak (2001), Laura Mahler (2001), Kate McGinty (2001), Sheila Pecachek (2002), Dan Weber (2002), Dan Dobbe (2003), Alexandra Plouff (2010), Sophia Herrmann (2018)
State Individual Runners-up:
Dan Dobbe (2001), Jaci Johnson (2001), Ryan Smith (2002), Anne Chesney & Jake Mahler (2003), Catherine Kedzuf (2004), Elliot Musilek (2007)
State Participant: 
1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2020