Skip To Main Content


The BSM debate team is a competitive program that emphasizes the Public Forum format. Students compete in a team debate format (with a partner). 

BSM’s program not only educates students about debate itself but also helps students strengthen reading, writing, researching, reasoning, and public speaking skills while engaging students in timely topics that are relevant in everyday life. 

Students debate two topics during the season: the first topic starts in September, the second in November. Students participating in other activities may still participate in the second topic. This activity is open to all grades at BSM.

2022-2023 Practices 
Tuesdays & Thursdays 4:30-6:00 p.m. in Room 148 - starting on Sept. 7, 2022.
*Practice schedule is liable to change based on student availability.   

2022-2023 Captains
Aidan Marks '23, Megan Cornell '23


Coach: Alex Smith

Assistant Coach:  Jackie Bucaro '21

Time Commitment: 
Students are required to attend bi-weekly practices. Like other sports, students are expected to spend time outside of practice doing research and drills. 

The season begins in late August and runs through the first week of December. Students selected for the Section team are expected to maintain commitment through January.

MSHSL Debate Resources and Information


1996: National Individual Champion (National Forensic League Lincoln-Douglas Debate):

Dan Vukelich

1996: State Individual Champion & National Catholic Forensic League Speech & Debate Tournament Champion: 

Jessica Rosenberg

2006: 10th Place National Finish at National Forensic League National Speech & Debate Tournament

Elliot Musilek

National Qualifiers: 

Elliot Musilek (2006)
Alex Smith (2011)
Liza Magill (2011)
Catherine Cole (2013)

State Lincoln-Douglas Debate Runner Up: 

Liz Letak, 2001, 2002

State Debate Team Participants:


State Debate Team Individual Participants:

Aidan Marks, Megan Cornell, Aidan Traverse, and Luke Evans (2022)