Banquet Information and RSVP:  Wednesday, April 17th at 6:00 pm in BSM Great Hall.  Please RSVP by clicking here

*     *     *     *     *     *

Head Coach: Maura Brew

Assistant Coaches:  Roxy Janke, Jake Ingalls, Anna Overbo, Sierra Twesten, Jeremy Cramer, Alex Smith, Megan Collins, Becca Meagher, Kaia Preus

Speech is a competitive activity that fosters learning the art of public speaking, but this activity encompasses so much more than just speaking. It also involves analysis, performance, research, writing, leadership, creativity, listening, etc. Although competitive, this activity is fundamentally about personal growth and achievement. Here at BSM, it’s also about the team. Congratulations, you’re now a ‘speecher’!


  • Keep a positive attitude!
  • Attend all team meetings on Wednesdays, 2:50 - 3:30 p.m. in the Band Room.
  • Meet with your coach each week for an hour.
  • Compete at five out of seven Saturday tournaments PLUS the two mandatory in-house tournaments
  • Compete at the NFL tournament (if chosen)
  • Compete at conference competition (if chosen)
  • Compete at sections (if chosen)
  • Perform at Speech Showcase
  • Dress appropriately at all tournaments.
  • Be on time and do not leave early from tournaments.
  • Travel to and from the tournaments on the BSM bus.
  • Attend a final found at each tournament.

If you sign up to work with a coach and you can’t make your time slot, it’s your job to find a replacement or find the person who is signed up after you and ask him/her to move up. After the first few weeks of working with your primary coach, you may practice with other coaches if they have time slots available. All coaches’ schedules will be posted on the Speech board; it is your responsibility to ensure that you have one hour of practice weekly. Should you fail to meet this requirement, you will receive one warning; if this happens a second time, you will be cut from the team.

Activity Fees:

This year, we are asking that you contribute a fee for this activity; the money will cover a team t-shirt, lunch at our in-house day, and materials which will be used on that day in our team-building program. The cost is $25 and will be added to your tuition; you do not need to bring in that money.


We will be attending 7 tournaments this season; you are required to attend 5 of them.  If you are not able to attend a tournament, you must let Mrs. Brew know as soon as possible.  A late drop from a tournament will result in a $15.00 fee to cover school expenses in tournament registration. 

If you are ill or need to reach Mrs. Brew urgently, CALL 612-718-9630

Speech Schedule 2019
January 12:      Season-Opener In-House Tournament - MANDATORY
January 26:      Eden Prairie 
February 2:       Prior Lake
February 9:        Lakeville South
February 16:      Eastview
February 23:      Centennial
March 2:             TBD (Shakopee/Lakeville North)
March 9:             Eagan

   *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *    *     *

March 8:             National Qualifiers @ Lakeville Nth.
March 16:           Section Team Workshop @ BSM
March 21:           Sections @ Eastview
April 13:              State @ Wayzata
   *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *    *     *

February 27:     Speech Showcase   (6:00-8:30)   MANDATORY
April 17:             End-of-Year Banquet  (6:00-8:30)


Rosters:    8th Grade - Grace Ehrmantraut, Aidan Marks, Nels Rolf

                   9th Grade - Cate Duffey, Suzy Haakonson

                 10th Grade - Johnny Borin, Jackie Bucaro, Luke Broglio, Julia Dimino, Joana Dominguez Lopez, Johan Dominguez Lopez, Caroline Germain, Xela Gunvalson, Maliah Jaiteh,
                                      Sophia Jones, Ava Krueger, Nic Marinaro, Sammy Nunez-Mudot, Ernesto Rios Diaz, Oriana Sampson, Sage Waymire-Rozman

                 11th Grade - Breah Banks, Cecilia Braun, Ronan Brew, Cylysce Doe, Alicia Fripp, Katherine Germain, Megan Hegenbarth, Noah Layton, Aidan Lee-Gilligan, Joe Marinaro,
                                      Nadya Mojica, Veronica Nowakowski, Pedro Ochoa, Gus Pirkl, Hope Wang

                 12th Grade - Maya Argenta, Taylor Damberg, Audrey Dickson, Xiomara Guzman, Kayla Farrey, Emma Heath, Emma Johnson, Makenzie Jordon, Claire Judge, Ellie Krueger,
                                      Maddie Marusich, Cammie Norman, Kailyn Pedersen, Annie Pohlen, Ellie Turk, Mary Youngblut, Myrka Zambrano



Conference Champions: 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014
Conference Academic Champions: 2010, 2014
Section Champions: 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2012, 2013, 2014
State Individual Champions: Liz Letak (2001), Laura Mahler (2001), Kate McGinty (2001), Sheila Pecachek (2002), Dan Weber (2002), Dan Dobbe (2003), Alexandra Plouff (2010-Story Telling), Sophia Herrmann (2018-Great Speeches)
State Individual Runners-up: Dan Dobbe (2001), Jaci Johnson (2001), Ryan Smith (2002), Catherine Kedzuf (2004), Elliot Musilek (2007)
State Individual (Duo) Runners-up: Anne Chesney & Jake Mahler (2003)
State Participant: 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018