Mock Trial

Adviser: Mary Murray

Coaches: Varsity - Michael Kruckow and Mark Whitmore | JV - Amarita Singh, Bob Huber and Deena Duffy

The Minnesota Mock Trial Program provides an innovative way to (1) help students develop a practical understanding of the American legal system, (2) improve basic skills such as listening, speaking, reading and reasoning, (3) strengthen students' intellectual skills of critical thinking and oral advocacy, (4) encourage cooperation among the legal and educational communities and (5) increase students' understanding of their rights and responsibilities as citizens. The program is open to interested students in grades 7-12.

Time Commitment: The case comes out over MEA break and we meet 2-3 times in October to work over the case, to assign parts and to lay out the season. The case work begins in November and runs through most of the month of January with the potential of going into February for regionals. State is held in March.

Practices are generally after school, 2-3 times each week on Tuesdays, Thursdays and some Saturdays. We do 4-5 scrimmages a season and have a varsity and a JV/Novice team. Competitions are held at the Hennepin County Government Center, during the evening on a week night, with the team participating in at least four, depending on win/loss record followed by a week of sub-regionals and then the state competition.

The 2019 Mock Trial Competition will be in Duluth, MN.

Captains 2018-19

Myrka Zambrano ('19), Breah Banks ('20), Maddie Kurtovich ('19) and Ronan Brew ('20)


State Participant 2018

State Placement 2018 - 5th place

Individual State Award Winner - Julia Duda ('18)